Ranting and Raving and Foaming at the Mouth

This is me doing the world a favor — AKA, ranting and raving and foaming at the mouth in a less public venue than Facebook.  Okay, it’s only less public in that you have to click a few more times to get to it, but that’s just semantics.

And there is a lot of ranting and raving and foaming at the mouth going on around here.  Since September, I have had

  • three stress fractures in my left pubic rami
  • three sacral stress fractures (bilateral)
  • two fractures in my right pubic ramus
  • one fracture in the rim of my right acetabulum

The latter three are not classified as “stress fractures,” but “fractures.”  That would be because they are not running-related: they were caused by a single traumatic impact, thanks to a bike accident last week in which I was not to blame.  But that doesn’t seem to matter, since the end result is the same… more sitting around on my butt.  Again.  You would think that after all this time and practice, I’d be better at it, but that isn’t the case at all.

Every time this happens, another little piece of me dies.  Soon enough, I will be a walking corpse.  Or should I say… a corpse on crutches.  One who is supposed to be in Curaçao right now, but apparently I’m not allowed to do anything I enjoy anymore, so that didn’t happen either.

Bitter much?

Yes, I am bitter.  I think that after nine months of this unending crap, I have earned that right.

One thought on “Ranting and Raving and Foaming at the Mouth

  1. Pingback: Al Goldstein Summer Speed Series #7 | Running Break

Leave a comment